Harvest Muffins

Each month Eden takes snack to preschool to share with the other kids. Her turn for snack is met with high expectations. Days in advance she seriously ponders what she wants to bring and then I go to work at figuring out a way to make it fun. This past week she decided she wanted to bring muffins. As her preschool mascot is an owl I thought I would see if I could make them look like owl faces.
At this point I should also explain one of the really cool things that Eden’s preschool focuses on is eating healthy. They have a no nonsense snack policy that makes me happy to know that Eden is getting good food at home and school.

I start by gathering all my ingredients. When I have a little helper I prefer not to leave her alone at the table as sometimes she can get ahead of me and start adding without measuring.

I start by gathering all my ingredients. When I have a little helper I prefer not to leave her alone at the table as sometimes she can get ahead of me and start adding without measuring.

Ingredients:
2 1/2 cups Whole Wheat Flour
1/2 cup Sugar (I added half the sugar and 1 cup Applesauce)
3/4 teaspoon Baking Powder
2 1/4 teaspoon Baking Soda
2 1/2 teaspoons Cinnamon
4 Eggs
1/2 cup Oil
1 tablespoon Ginger
1 tablespoon Vanilla
2 cups shredded Carrots
3 cups shredded Zucchini
2 cups shredded Apples
3/4 cup Walnuts (optional)

IMG_1628First dry ingredient all measured out in one bowl.

IMG_1626Then everything wet.

IMG_1612      IMG_1618We doubled our recipe so my little helper had lots of practice cracking eggs. Some fine motor skills at work. She also enjoy smelling the cinnamon and ginger before adding them to the bowl. She thought the ginger smelt so good that she should try a whole teaspoon’s worth. She thought it was good but a little spicy.

IMG_1627Next I grated carrots, zucchini, and apples using the food processor, which made the process quick and easy. I feel healthy already.

IMG_1638      IMG_1641

Lastly into the muffin tins and into the over at 350 degrees for 16 minutes. I forgot to get a picture of the muffins before I started decorating them for school but they were nicely rounded and had a pretty shine to them. You can kind of see them here in my decorating process.
To turn the muffins into owls. I used toasted coconut for the feathers, a cashew for the beak, halved dried apricots for the eyes with dried cranberries. They turned out pretty cute.

IMG_1651

And maybe even a little cuter all together.

IMG_1662Everyone that tried them loved them. Very moist and I loved the walnuts. Next time I might try adding coconut to the batter. Besides the 25 Eden took to school I was able to freeze 20; which means this double batch yielded 54 regular size muffins (looks like my math isn’t right doesn’t it – well we tasted a “few”). These froze well and we enjoyed them all week and have more for next week.

2 thoughts on “Harvest Muffins

Leave a Reply

