40 Bags in 40 Days

Tomorrow is Ash Wednesday and the first day of Lent.Trash Bags

Lent is the Christian season of preparation before Easter. It begins 40 days prior to Easter (Sundays are not included in the count). It is a time when many Christians prepare for Easter by observing a period of fasting, moderation and practicing of spiritual disciplines.

This year I am going a join a group of ladies in their 40 Bags in 40 Days challenge. The idea is to declutter your home, each of the 40 days you pick one small area and fill a bag with unwanted, unused, and unloved items. It is an easier way to do spring cleaning. This idea originated with Sarah from Clover Lane and has been made popular by Ann Marie from White House Black Shutters.

I have always loved an organized house but I am taking this challenge for a little different reason than simply spring cleaning. It is my desire to have a completely organized house that when picking up and putting way happens each day it is simple and quick. Everything has a place and everyone knows where that is. With our extra free time I would like to implement a family devotional time. If we can save 20 minutes each day from being more organized we will then have an extra 20 minutes to spend together reading, praying, and discovering God’s love together.

So I have started by making a schedule. I divided my house into forty small areas that I thought I could manage in one day.

Day 1: Master Bedroom Closet – Anne’s Clothes
Day 2: Master Bedroom Anne’s Dresser
Day 3: Master Bedroom Closet – Joseph’s Clothes
Day 4: Master Bedroom Joseph’s Dresser
Day 5 Master Bathroom
Day 6: Kid’s Closet – Toys
Day 7: Kid’s Closet – Clothes
Ect….

Who is with me? Don’t feel like you have the time to do 40 bags? That’s okay. Take the challenge and just see how many bags you can do.

Time to declutter, clean, get organized, and find more time for a family devotional. Besides my normal weekly post I plan to give a weekly update with my running black bag count.

I guess I better get some black bags tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

